Experiences

Make the most of your holiday in Thiers

Located near the old town of Thiers, a cutlery-making capital, the Clos St Eloi, The Originals Relais serves as the perfect base for unforgettable adventures in the surrounding countryside, as well as sightseeing in Thiers. Are you wondering about things to do and places to go in the Auvergne? Here are a few of our top recommendations for your list: exploring the lush Livradois-Forez Regional Natural Park, hiking through the Auvergne volcanoes, and a stroll through the old town of Thiers.

Nature Walks

Where could be a more beautiful place to enjoy nature in all its glory than the Auvergne and Puy-de-Dôme? There are a myriad of walks to enjoy in the great outdoors surrounding Thiers. The Livradois-Forez and Auvergne Volcanoes Regional Natural Parks also offer some unforgettable hikes and outings. Alain highly recommends a trip to the Credogne springs, and a visit to the village of Chateldon.

A Trip through Time

During your stay, a trip to Thiers – cutlery capital of the world – is an absolute must. Visitors will love its olde-worlde charm, astonishing architecture, and thriving artisan traditions. Cutlers have been crafting their wares here for over 6 centuries – it would be a shame not to come and admire their hard work! The castles of the Auvergne are also well worth a visit, to see the wealth and riches of the Château de Ravel, Château de Vollore, Château d’Aulteribe and Château des Martinanches laid out before your eyes.

Auvergne Volcanoes

Only 40 kilometres from Thiers, the 80 volcanoes in the famous Chaîne des Puys in the Auvergne stretch before you in all their glory. Between the Maar de Beaunit and the Narse, head off to explore the incredible Jumes, Pariou and Puys-de-Dôme cinder cones. You can’t come to The Auvergne without paying a visit to its most famous volcanoes: the twin cones of La Vache and Lassolas, formed by the same eruptive episode almost 9 millennia ago.

Forez

A walk through the Livradois-Forez Natural Park is a must during your stay in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Soaring high across the western edge of the Auvergne, these lofty, exposed peaks are the perfect viewpoint from which to survey the entire area. You’ll start from Ambert, a village known for its cheese, before heading off to explore the Richard de Bas Master Paper Mill or boarding a railcar to the Abbey Church of La Chaise-Dieu.

SMART DEALS

Read more

WEEKEND GETAWAY

Read more

Gift box

Read more
Back to top

nature dans la région de l'hôtel Clos St Elois, The Originals Re
parc de l'hôtel Clos St Elois, The Originals Relais
Balade dans les rues de Thiers

Expériences

Profitez de vos vacances à Thiers

Situé à proximité du centre historique de Thiers, capitale de la coutellerie, le Clos St Eloi, The Originals Relais sera le point de départ idéal pour des explorations inoubliables en pleine nature et faire du tourisme à Thiers. Vous vous demandez que faire ou visiter en Auvergne ? Nous avons des recommandations incontournables : la découverte du somptueux Parc naturel régional Livradois-Forez, une promenade au pied des volcans d’Auvergne et une balade dans le centre historique de Thiers. 

jardin avec arbres de l'hôtel Clos St Elois, The Originals Relai

Balades Nature

Quelles plus belles régions que l’Auvergne et le Puy-de-Dôme pour profiter comme il se doit des splendeurs de la nature ? Autour de Thiers, les balades en plein air se déclinent à l’envie. Le Parc naturel régional Livradois-Forez et celui des volcans d’Auvergne sauront autant d’occasion de randonées et sorties en plein air inoubliables. Alain vous conseille vivement d’organiser une escapade aux sources de la Credogne et du village de Chateldon. 

Voyage dans le Temps

Votre séjour sera nécessairement ponctué d’une visite de Thiers, capitale mondiale de la coutellerie. Ayant su garder son charme d’antan, la cité séduit par son architecture pleine de surprise et sa forte tradition artisanale. Depuis plus de 6 siècles, les couteliers y façonnent leurs trésors. Il serait dommage de ne pas leur rendre hommage ! En mettant cap sur les châteaux d’Auvergne, ce sont les richesses de Ravel, de Vollore d’Aulteribe et des Martinanches qui s’offriront ensuite à vous. 

carte des randonnées dans la région de Thiers

Volcans d’Auvergne

À seulement 40 kilomètres de Thiers, les 80 volcans de la fameuse Chaîne des Puys d’Auvergne se déploient dans toute leur majesté. Entre le Maar de Beaunit et la Narse, partez à la découverte des sites glorieux des Jumes, de Pariou ou des Puys-de-Dôme. Il faut que vous visitiez les volcans plus connus d’Auvergne, les jumeaux de La Vache et de Lassolas, formés par le même épisode éruptif il y a maintenant près de 9 millénaires. 

Le Forez

Le Parc Livradois Forez constitu un passage obligatoire lors de votre séjour en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Toiture de l’Auvergne orientale, ces hauts sommets dénudés vous permettront de saisir en un seul coup d’œil l’ensemble du territoire. À partir de la ville fromagère d’Ambert, vous partirez à la découverte des Maîtres Papetiers du Moulin Richard de Bas ou embarquerez dans un autorail pour rejoindre l’abbatiale de la Chaise Dieu. 

entrée de l'hôtel Clos St Elois, The Originals Relais

BONS PLANS

En savoir plus

Evasion Week-end

En savoir plus

Coffret cadeau

En savoir plus
Haut de page